Aubergine & Feta Salad

 

There’s nothing better in summer than a fresh salad for a healthy dinner. As aubergines are in season at the moment I thought of giving this salad a try and Oh… I didn’t regret it. It uses just a few ingredients. The only part you need to be a bit patient is when cooking the aubergine as you have to wait for 20 minutes. The mint and the basil are key ingredients here and so it’s the pomegranate. I didn’t used to consider using pomegranate but since I tried sometime ago I can’t stop using it in salads. It transforms them and makes them special or so I think.  My sister was still at my place when I cooked this and she enjoyed it as much as I did.

 

Ingredients (For 2 people):

  • 1 Aubergine
  • 1tsp cumin
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Dill & Basil ~ 1 tbsp each
  • Mint ~ less than a tbsp ~1/2
  • Pomegranate seeds (1/3)
  • 50gr feta or a bit more
  • Juice of 1 lemon

The first thing is to pre-heat the oven to 200C. Once I cut the aubergine in cubes, placed them in a roasting tray, tossed them with cumin, some salt & olive oil. The tray went straight into the oven.

In the mean time I chopped the herbs (dill, basil & mint) and add them to the serving bowl together with the seeds. Added the aubergine when It was ready + the feta cheese. Tossed everything together. Finally added the lemon juice and if needed a tiny bit more olive oil. Eat straight away.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

