Ginger Beef!

This is my third attempt to publish this recipe! 😦 Let’s see if I can manage this time! I kept getting an error just after submitting my post!…Very frustrating :-/

Anyway, I tried this recipe last Sunday. It was surprisingly nice given the source of my recipe. I took it from Gok cooks Chinese. I have not been really interested in Chinese cooking until I saw his show. I know… random! The guy will teach you everything even cooking.

  • 2 tbsp cornflour, or potato flour – I used Cornflour
  • salt and ground white pepper
  • 2 beef sirloin steaks (~200g ), sliced into 0.5cm  – I used Beef medallion
  • 6 tbsp groundnut oil – I used vegetable oil
  • 4cm of fresh ginger, peeled and finely chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, peeled and chopped
  • 3 spring onions, chopped
  • 1  carrot, peeled and cut into matchsticks
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce (Light)
  • ½ -1 tsp caster sugar
  • 1 tsp sesame oil
  • 1-1½ tsp rice vinegar or cider vinegar, to taste
I put the flour+ salt & pepper into a bowl and I dusted the beef in the flour. In a wok, I heated some oil and when really hot I added the beef and cook until crisp. I set aside.
In the same wok I cooked the beef, I added a bit of oil and all the vegetable we cut at the beginning. Ginger, Spring Onios, Garlic and Carrots. I cooked for a minute or until it became “aromatic”.
Next, I added all the remaining ingredient, the soy sauce, sugar, sesame oil, vinegar and a pinch of pepper, along with 3 tablespoons of water to create a sauce.I continued stirring until the sugar dissolved and tasted to adjust the flavors by adding vinegar or sugar if needed. Finally, It’s about mixing the beef into the sauce
And done! I started cooking plain white rice at the beginning and serve the meat with it. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

