Creamy Sprouts!

I know that brussel sprout is a vegetable that you either love it or hate it. I like them, I really do.  But sometimes, they can be dull if you don’t find an exciting way of cooking it. I wanted to cook the brussel sprouts in a different way than normal. I had a whole bag full of them and I was feeling like eating warm & comfort food 🙂 I twisted this recipe after seeing one random website but I remember they were using cream. I made a Béchamel (white sauce) instead and adding some more veggies…You could try it both ways…

Ingredients:

  • 1 kg Brussels sprouts, trimmed
  • 8 rashers cured bacon, cut into lardons
  • 250ml Béchamel or double cream
  • 2 garlic cloves, crushed
  • 1 onion
  • 1 leek
  • Parmesan cheese
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper

For the Béchamel….flour, butter, milk & nutmeg

I boiled the sprouts in salted water for around 10 minutes. In a fryin pan I  fried the crushed garlic, cut onions, cut leeks and bacon until crip. When the sprouts were ready I added to the fryin pan and stirred into the bacon, etc.

For the Béchamel.. Add the butter in a saucepan, over a medium heat. When the butter has melted, stir in the flour, and cook the flour for 1 to 2 minutes. Pour in a bit of milk, and whisk it all in. Pour in more milk, and whisk every time you pour the milk. Repeat until all the milk is in. Cook the sauce for 10 mins in low heat. Add some nutmeg at the end.

I placed the sprouts in a tray and poured over the cream. Added some parmesan on top and placed in the oven for about 15mins.

Leave a Reply

