Leeks, onions & bacon cheesecake!

Last weekend I went to visit one friend in Brighton, as I was thinking what to bring I thought to treat us to something nice to eat as one of the things we do when we get together is just enjoy very good food. We either eat in or out. We love discovering new places in Brighton. πŸ™‚ Anyway, I was browsing the internet with the help of my little sister and we found this savoury bacon and onion cheesecake to which I added leeks!. It’s very easy and It’s super tasty!.

This is what I used (I will use the measures on the web but as said before, I don’t usually follow this measures. I just have them as guidelines in terms of proportions)….

2/3 c Stone-ground wheat cracker crumbs (I used melba toasts crumbs)
-1/3 c Walnuts, finely chopped (I used sesame seeds as I didn’t have walnuts)
-2 tb Butter, softened
-8 sl Bacon
-1/2 c Onion, chopped
-24 oz Cream cheese, softened
-3 Eggs, beaten
-1/2 ts Cayenne Pepper
-1/4 ts Garlic powder

And this is how I cooked it…

I mixed melted butter with the crumbs and sesame seeds at bottom of the trey and spread evenly. Into the oven for 10 mins @ 200Β°C or when you see the base is golden… Once that’s done, take it out let it cool down.

In a pan, I sauted my onions,leeks and bacon until done. Seasoned with salt, pepper and set aside.In a bowl,I added the cream cheese and gradually added eggs, garlic powder & cayenne. Beated until smooth and finally Stirred the onions,leeks and bacon. I then poured the mix over the tray where I had the base cooling down. Baked 45 to 60 minutes or until cheesecake is almost set and cracks on top. Cooled completely & Stored in refrigerator covered.

We tried it and it tasted amazing! It’s ideal if you go camping or for a dinner party or for finger food as it’s ideal to be served cold!
Enjoy!! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Leeks, onions & bacon cheesecake!

  1. terhi

    it looks delicious πŸ™‚ we tried pan de jamon with my sister and it turned out quite good. Not as good as I remember it when I tasted yours but still it’s so yammy πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

